top of page
  • Writer's pictureBarbara Holden

TAKE BACK YOUR 2020 - Part 2

Last time I talked about a runner quitting after a hurdle got the better of them...and here's another great bit of wisdom.


It's from a friend of mine who's been a Pilot for the past 40 years. This guy is so good, I have no doubt he can fly anything with wings or blades.


He gave me this sage advice about flying:


UNLESS YOU'RE UPSIDE DOWN AND ON FIRE, DON'T STOP FLYING THE PLANE


Now, although I grew up in a family with lots of Pilots, I'm not a Pilot myself -- but I LOVE the ridiculously basic common sense of this rule of thumb.


Because I've had times when I just wanted to just bail because things got hard. Maybe even impossible. But I wasn't upside down and on fire -- not yet, anyway -- so I kept flying the plane.


What are you going to do anyway, just step away from the controls and go sit down in the back of the plane?


Of course not. You keep your wits about you, reach into your databanks for what you know to do in a tough situation, and KEEP FLYING THE PLANE.


You never know what solutions will present themselves when you stay at the controls even when it gets rough.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page